About Us

Welcome to the official web portal of Ministry of Power, Energy & Mineral Resources (MPEMR). The peoples' Republic of Bangladesh. 

The Department of Energy and Mineral Resources carries out a detailed analysis of the basic energy related policies including energy import, distribution, exploration, accumulation, price fixation. There are three (03) separate organizations related to the oil, gas and coal in the Department of Energy and Mineral Resources. 

Basically, Bangladesh oil-gas and mineral resources corporation (Petrobangla) and Bangladesh Petroleum Corporation (BPC) oversee oil, gas and coal related matters. Bangladesh Petroleum Exploration and Production Company Limited (BAPEX) has been working to search and collect fuel. Other organizations include Bangladesh Gas Field Company Limited, Sylhet Gas Fields Limited, Gas Transmission Company Limited, Titas Gas Transmission & Distribution Company Limited, Bakhrabad Gas Distribution Company Limited, Jalalabad Gas Transmission and Distribution System Limited, Western Gas Company Limited, Karnaphuli Gas Distribution Company Limited, Sundarban Gas Company Limited, Transformed Natural Gas Company Limited, Barapukuria Coal Mining Company Limited, Madhyapara Granite Mining Company Limited. Padma, Meghna and Jamuna are the three main distributors of Petroleum Corporation. Under Petrobangla, Bangladesh Gas Fields Limited operates government-controlled gas fields. Gas Transmission Company Limited (GTCL) and Titas Gas Transmission and Distribution Company Limited (TGTDDCL) are the gas transmission and distribution companies respectively.  

Barapukuria Coal Mining Company Limited (BCMCL), which plays the leading role in the coal sector in the country, is the only active coal mine in the country. In addition, under this department, Geological Survey (GSB), Bangladesh Mineral Resources Development (BMD), Madhyapara Granite Mining Company, Explosive Division, Bangladesh Petroleum Institute and several other organizations exist.